Nature's midwinter offering

I managed to do some outdoor chores today even though the weather was very stormy with howling winds and the threat of rain in the distant clouds. I planted up a couple of bulbs which I had forgotten about and that had begun to sprout.  I watered some plants in the cabin and put another one out to have a wash from the imminent rain, to try and clear off some of the sticky residue from bugs, which is always a problem of keeping indoor plants.

I also cleared out the coal bunker which had accumulated a lot of coal dust as I need to order a new delivery for the rest of winter.  As I stood outside I saw that the first Hellebore flower has opened which is a always a reminder of the approaching spring.  They are such amazing flowers to pop out in the middle of winter with their physical shape, beautiful patterns and delicate tones.

I brought my camera out immediately as the weather was closing in fast.    It was nearly impossible to catch the flower without any movement because of the intense gusts of the wind.  I knelt down as low as possible on a waterproof tray and managed to grab this shot.  I saw lots of further buds so there will be many more to come and I will hopefully film a sharper image another time.  But for now this will brighten up our day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.