Moving to Mirissa on the bus

I got up just after sunrise to have a final walk along the beach before heading away to my next port of call, Mirissa. After checking out of the hotel I walked the short distance to the main coastal road and within a few minutes I flagged down a local bus from Galle and was pleased that it  nearly actually stopped, as my pack was quite heavy. Quite often you have to hop on the bus as it keeps moving because time is tight here!

I love these Sri Lankan buses, but I've only had to take short journeys on them. Each of the bus companies that compete for trade on the crowded roads seem to offer a different religion to pray too. Given the madness on the roads I can understand why local people might find that calming, especially given the somewhat worrying driving skills shown by all. Our driver here seemed to be following the Buddha's hand movements, possibly aimed at other drivers.

I'd pre-booked a cheap place to stay in Mirissa and was also pleased to find it was only about two hundred yards from where the bus stopped next to the beach. I dumped my bags and headed for a swim. I'm sure the beach will appear in many blips to come! I'm a sucker for the sea, sand and surf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.