madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Allotment Day!

Day on the allotment! Coop member who does the thurs open phoned early in the am as was unwell - so up I went, after midday home I went! Took some photos of roses indoors then  returned to put chickens to bed! So roses and rain today!
Typically the morning was all sunshine and showers - which saw me sheltering on the porch of a fellow allotmenteers shed and even inside the coop with the chickens. But I did manage to inspect my plot and discover the rhubarb balls of new shoots pushing their way up out of the dead black foliage. I have 5 plants dotted here and there but my favourite is the Pink Champagne variety!!  I also did a little weeding and began to plan in my mind what type of potatoes to plant this year and where! Also realised I could start sowing seeds - in particular sweet peas! 
As if I needed more proof that spring is on its way, the chickens laid 8 eggs today - 3 up on the usual! My usual open and close tomorrow so if the weather is not good I shall sow those seeds indoors! Will be interesting to see how the allotment will change what I blip - and how often! Serious competition for my attention! 

P.S. Many thanks for the stars and hearts for paradise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.