Plus ça change...

By SooB

Safe hands

We're all still a bit in shock here. Life goes on, of course, with school and shopping and endlessly painting the bathroom, but all done with an undercurrent of discontent, like a permanent feeling there's something important I've forgotten to do.

The kids said there was nothing else to talk about today at school, and as you can see the College kids have taken the 'Je suis Charlie' campaign to heart (and hand). Both schools observed the silence, of course, and the kids were anxious to know if I had too. (Yes, pulled off the road in a driveway, trying not to let the fact that CarbBoy had once been sick there distract me from focussing on free speech.)

But from all the conversations I had today with my kids and other kids, I think the future of free speech is in safe hands.

Tonight, a meeting at the College. Incomprehensible in so many ways. But I managed not to be co-opted on to any more committees (it was a close call), made a funny joke about crumble and had some 'free'* champagne.

*Paid for with the fees I pay, I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.