A STROLL ALONG BOSCOMBE PIER

We are going back home on Sunday, so I had decided that today would be the day we cleaned and polished the apartment, but Mr. HCB had other ideas.  We went down to our favourite beach-side café for coffee and then, even though the wind was blowing a gale, decided it would be good to go for a walk along the pier.  

On the west side of the pier, it was so windy, we could hardly stand, but I wanted to walk along that side to get some photographs.  I did tell Mr. HCB to stay away from the edge, so you decide - did he dive or jump, or was he pushed?

There weren’t many others being as stupid as we were strolling along the pier but it is great for adults to be able to play the different instruments on the Music Play Trail without children getting in the way!!  So I "had a play" on the tubular bells - and got rid of a lot of pent-up energy - it was really exhilarating especially with the wind whipping through my hair.

It was much easier walking back on the east side of the pier - and once again, it got me thinking that sometimes life is like that - you can choose to walk on the wild side or the calm side - it was great at first being on the wild side, but after a while I was happy to walk without fear of the wind bowling me over on the calm side.  I’m not quite as adventurous as I used to be when I was younger, but it was good to have the chance to choose today.

I have started reading a 365 Day Devotional entitled “Choose Life" written by Simon Guillebaud, who has lived in Burundi since his early twenties - this was part of yesterday’s reading:

"Why don’t you try to spend a few minutes today with God 
to think about how or where 
He might be wanting to journey with you? 
Maybe your current circumstances prohibit radical changes. 
Maybe God just wants to tweak areas of your life 
rather than engage in whole-scale transformation. 
Seek Him about it. 
Whatever the case, at the end of your life, 
you don’t want to have lots of regrets 
that you played it safe all the way 
and missed out on the adventures 
He was calling you to. 
Agreed?”
Simon Guillebaud

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.