Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I'll have the frog's legs, please...

Not a good day for the frog, but an excellent day for this young Little Blue Heron (the youngsters don't turn blue until during their second year).  I watched this youngster hunting very adeptly, until an adult LBH came and chased him away.  I picked this shot because you can see the water droplets from the heron shaking it's catch, and you can also see the frog trying real hard not to be eaten.  Sorry if this is a bit graphic for some of you ... but nature is a savage mistress!

In other excellent news... Phoebe's cardiac ultrasound showed some mild narrowing in her left ventricular heart valve - the cause of the murmur.  While it is possible that this could evolve into heart disease (cardiomyopathy, which is what killed Rocket) in time, it could just as easily stay exactly as it is, allowing Phoebe a long life.  No medication or treatment at this point, but we'll have Phoebe back yearly for a cardiac ultrasound to make sure that she is okay.  She was back home in time to eat a big lunch and meticulously groom her fur.  We also brought Rocket home - well, we brought the box with his ashes home.  It seems right to have his ashes with us although I wish that I could run my fingers through his silky fur just one more time...

In other news, I had a good outing this afternoon and in addition to this frog-eating LBH, I also saw lots of other things being eaten, as well as some "sexy time"between two amorous hawks.  I posted a selection of 8 other shots starting HERE on Flickr.  

Hubs and I are going out for sushi tonight, I think - cook's night off.  And tomorrow, we are meeting Sefferdog and Mrs Sefferdog at Fort DeSoto for some photography and some laughs!!  Really looking forward to seeing them both and to doing some photography with Wade.  I've promised him that we are going to find him a Reddish Egret ... and I can't wait to see what kind of magic he'll be able to do with one of those!

Be well...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.