She's back!

I had a broken night's sleep, despite moving into #3 son's room.  The wind was howling, the rain was battering and I was awaiting the return of the KL family.  Sensibly they remained 'up North'. 

I got up to more breaking news from Paris but a really busy day at the office meant it was evening before we caught up.

I spent the morning trying to explain 'complicated' budget stuff to a colleague and then spent the rest of the day trying to explain it in writing.  In between we dissected Christmas and I neglected lunch.

The plan (why DO I keep having plans?) was to be out early to buy a birthday present for KF before going to the photos viewing.  I skipped the former and went straight to the latter and happily the KL family met me there.  We sat on chairs and watched things on a big screen.  Olivia was funny.  Every time a shot of her and her parents came on the screen she squealed with joy?, surprise? recognition, wind?  Who knows?

We choose the ones we wanted and the number of copies and I paid (a BIG dent in the credit card) and the home via the Manor to say 'good-bye'.  It seems really odd not to ask' how was your trip up north', 'what did you do?', 'who did you see'?, but we managed not to tread on any of that ground.  No mention of 'the other side' crossed our lips.

Home for a Nepalese carry out.  Olivia slept while we ate and then got up later for a wee play.  She's only been away 3 nights and I'm sure she's grown. 

After food we watched tv - 'In Bruges'.  I'd been told it's a great film, and it is.  I hadn't realised it was the same director as 'The Guard'.  Also a great film, which I have seen. But chocolate with haggis spices does not work.

#2 son came home and we watched '8/10 Cats - Countdown', The Last Leg' and Adam Hills.  So I went to bed full of laughter.

Of course people in Paris weren't going to bed full of laughter.  #1 son watched the footage of the storming of the supermarket with a soldier's eye. So sad.  Where is this going?  How do we over come the hatred and begin to see the world as full of human beings, not enemies?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.