Photogen

By Photogen

DoubleTake - Winter landscape

The B/W picture won me all of £20 in an 'Amateur Photographer' competition in 1980 - and publication in their magazine. No online publishing or Blips then! Careful dodging under the enlarger darkened the top of the sky which was quite white in the FP4 negative. I remember I was thrilled to have captured a pair of plovers hovering over the landscape - taken with my first SLR - the ubiquitous Pentax Spotmatic 11. I felt this picture had potential and submitted to some country magazines which used B/W pictures extensively then. And so it featured in winter editions and earned me a few more pounds! 

No plovers around today unfortunately, when I took almost the same view with my compact camera. There were flurries of snow all day but nothing lying. I manipulated the highlights to put more detail into the stormy sky. The farmhouse now has a conservatory and new barns, and cattle have  replaced sheep. They will be inside now as the winter begins to bite!

B/W: Pentax Spotmatic11, 135mm lens, 1/250th, f4, Ilford FP4 developed in ID11 (1+1)
Colour: Sony Cybershot DSC-RX100M2, ISO 800, 22.25mm, f4.5/ 1/800

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.