Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Blustery

It has been another miserable weather day.  As such, I've spent a lot of it finally getting around to upload my missing blips.  There's the trip to Canada and most of March, including our last Canal holiday.

During this process I have become annoyed.  I've tried really hard to not complain about the changes but this one seems nonsensical.  I used to think I understood blip and the way it worked.  It was clear when someone joined, how many blips they had posted.  Backblips were a blip taken since you joined but uploaded a date later than it was taken (like my holiday shots) and archived shots were photos taken before you joined blip.  It now seems that archived blips have been added to blip counts.  So now if someone has 1500 blips, there is no way of knowing whether they joined and have been blipping for 4 years or 4 months and have uploaded a load of old photos.  Anniversaries and blip counts now have no meaning.  My archived blips were my life before blip, they did not take the time, the thought, the commitment (okay, or recent lack thereof) that every photo since I joined blip in 2009 has taken.  To be able to change your total, manipulate an anniversary at a whim by uploading some old photos seem to completely take away from what I personally felt blip was about.  I had wanted to upload some old photos but now it feels like it would be cheating.  My 21 archive blips feel like stolen tallies on my chart.

Anyhow, I'm sure there was some sensible reason for it so grump over but I would like to know who was actually consulted in the changes that were made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.