Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Home: The photographer

A  morning taking it easy and teaching Beau the basics of light, focus and aperture. I like the fact that he can work a computer at his age, and then with little instruction slow right down, as if in like a slow motion movie to operate the focus ring on an old camera. 

He says, to start with, "I cant see you, your dusty!" I panic a little, thinking can he really see a camera filled with dust. He means of course that I am out of focus, as he puts the focus ring round. "Oh yes," he says with delight " There you are!" ... Argh, regressing through time, and being so happy with the whole art of the camera. 

We look on the screen at two images he made. One where I am in focus, and the other where the background is. I look at him and say wondering if he made a mistake. He laughs over my shoulder, " Look its does do what I make it do!". I smile, I saw the magic in photography at his age just as this eight year old sees today. Its like looking at myself apart from this time my boy is taking the picture. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.