Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Slimbridge - Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust

I've been a member of the WWT for over 40 years now. I also subscribe to fotoBuzz (Andy Rouse). When I saw that fotoBuzz was doing a Meet-Up at Slimbridge I really had to go there, especially as I hadn't been for at least 12 months.

Andy provided some useful guidance in the brief introduction in the cafe, after which I just went and did my own thing. By 13:00 my back and breathing cried 'enough', so I only photographed around the collection - no shots from hides, or birds flying in during the late afternoon.

But it was a great day,  and the new zoom lens (equivalent to 810mm FF) was great, though even by ISO 800 the Nikon 1's are noisy! I have to investigate a problem with one of the cameras which on aperture priority seems unwilling to change the aperture using the dial.

Why the Nikon 1 for this trip? It gives me the longest lens, and is relatively compact AND LIGHT (important as I grow older), though I do wonder if a microfourthirds system, with a maximum FF equivalent of 600mm, might have been better (better IQ, and probably 1600 ISO would have been tolerable).

Oh, and the vast majority of the attendees were using Canons, and I don't think anyone else but me was shooting mirrorless, let alone such a small sensor!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.