Can You See Big Bird?

No, nor could I.

My daughter messaged me yesterday telling me that another rhea has escaped and has been seen near Brent Pelham. I really enjoyed exploring the Herts country lanes while I was hunting the Big Bird last year, so off I went on my quest in bright sunshine today.

I hadn't got any leads by lunchtime so headed for the March Hare tearoom in Hare Street. No lunch for me as they were fully booked. I quite enjoyed sipping a coffee outside, taking in the lines of a beautiful Austin Healey 3000.  MrQ nearly bought a very similar Austin Healey 100 in the fifties but his baritone sax wouldn't fit in the boot so he got a TR2 instead.

I love driving at Barkway near the beacon. It is on the eastern edge of The Chilterns and, unusually for this part of the world, there is a lovely view. There was quite a big bird in the distance, a red kite I think. I got some long shots of it in flight and surprisingly perched on a Telegraph pole in the company of a flock of jackdaws, a pigeon and a rook. A mate says that other birds are not bothered when they know where a bird of prey is.

As I drove home near Anstey a blue Lotus Elan, exactly the same as my first early one, was coming the other way. The male driver, in his colour coordinated bobble hat, gave me a big smile and a wave. I suppose because my S2000 is blue and I had the roof down too. I would have liked to have chatted to him and to the owner of the 3000.

If I hear Big Bird updates I'll be onto it. :)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.