Country Clothing

Horrible day. I decided to postpone my rhea hunt and it was too wet for a walk. My trusty old wellies have sprung a leak so I visited a local farm and equestrian shop in the hope of replacing them. "No, we don't stock Hunters, they're rubbish now that they're made in China." I tried a couple of pairs of boots on but they just didn't feel right. I have always worn the plain black rubber Hunter Argylls, winter and summer, inside and out, all day long. They are so light, comfortable and hardwearing. If they're good enough for Prince Charles they're good enough for me. I looked online and the firm still has the royal warrant. I've ordered a pair from Doe's of Fyfield.

I photographed this horse at Epping Green, standing in the rain and feasting on some lovely fresh hay. I love horses but I'm not a horsey person. I don't think this horse is any old nag, it looks to me to have breeding. It has been clipped about the face very exactly and its mane is carefully clipped too. I love the back to front question mark on its forehead. I've read that is called an irregular star. That's no ordinary, heavy canvas, scratchy New Zealand rug. It's a polo-necked, tailored turnout Barbour. :)     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.