Jeff's Cottages

I've been helping my sister prepare to make the coffin spray for her friend. It has been a bit like a Two Ronnies skit. She wanted to include a tasteful letter 'O' as he was known by the first letter of his name. We had to choose between Os and then prepare one, which involved sand papering, painting, scumbling/liming and spraying antique gold.

We had a nice but very cold and muddy dogwalk down by the river but saw very little wildlife. As I left the sun was setting. I tried to get to the riverside at Althorne on the way home but the road was so rutted that I turned back and headed for North Fambridge instead. By then the sunset colours were fading. My pic is of the typical Essex weatherboarded Jeff's Cottages. Jeff, the last boatman to operate the ferry, which ceased in the 1950s, lived here.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.