Looking A Bit Sheepish

As is was raining I decided to go to Tewin and sit in the hide in the hope of shooting wildlife of some sort. I gazed out onto the muddy puddle with the loud dripping of rain drops onto metal and wondered what I was doing there. I stayed for about forty-five minutes and in spite of thinking positive and visualising kingfishers, egrets and water voles, I didn't see anything apart from a couple of wood pigeons.

I saw the sheep in the field opposite before I went in and noticed one away from the flock by the hedge near the road. It was still there when I drove down the drive. Then I noticed that it had thrust its head into one of the squares in the pig wire and was stuck. I clambered over the high three bar fence. When I landed on the other side the whole flock galloped towards me and I was surrounded. En masse we went to the aid of the trapped sheep. It was so shocked by the rescue party that it wrested itself free. Poor thing, it's much smaller than the other sheep and is blind in one eye. :(

Today's poem Along The Road is by American poet Robert Browning Hamilton. http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/289683-i-walked-a-mile-with-pleasure-she-chatted-all-the

The editors of Poem For The Day Two state that they hope people will learn the poems by heart. (RBH loved to do this.) That's not going to happen as far as I am concerned but I have enjoyed doing so in the past. My children used to learn and recite poetry competitively for the Cambridge Festival when they were at primary school and I think all three of us think fondly of it. 

Today's poem is often used at funerals. It doesn't appeal to me. I don't like the way it appears to debunk Pleasure. I've come across that before.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.