Grey Heron - Grey Day

I collected my repaired 7D MkII and went to RSPB Rye Meads to try it out. How annoying, the gate was shut with a note to say they're closing on Fridays for staff training.

I went to Fishers Green instead and walked right round Seventy Acres Lake. I spent some time on a bridge above the water. Charlie the poodle was too scared to cross, you can see the water between the slats. I knelt in the middle of the bridge, told him what a good boy he is and coaxed him across. Soon afterwards two hard lads and their dogs approached. One had a huge brindle Dogue de Bordeaux and the other a stocky Staffie. At the bridge the lad scooped up the Staffie and carried it across saying, "e don't do bridges." :)

The light was slightly better today. I got the above shot of Jack Heron quite late in the afternoon and was delighted to see a kingfisher flash past. The mallards were doing lots of quacking and squabbling and the great crested grebes are squaring up to one another. There's a whiff of spring in the air. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.