No Rhea Leads But A Beautiful Leadlight

I resumed the rhea hunt this afternoon. As I came down a single track hill into Wicken Bonhunt I could see some crows picking at a carcase. I was convinced that it was the rhea. I was sure that I could see two legs and a long neck. On closer inspection it was three legs with cloven hooves. The remains of a deer minus one leg and its head. I was glad it wasn't the rhea but sad about the deer's demise. :(

The village of Rickling has been mentioned in the rhea hunt. Rickling Green is a largish settlement around a lovely village green quite near to the old A11, which was an important drover's route. Rickling is a tiny hamlet in the countryside around All Saints Church. I stopped and was delighted to find that church was open. It has some beautiful, very detailed, stained glass windows. However I was captivated by the shadows being cast on the plaster by the late afternoon sunshine streaming through a delicately coloured window with a simple diamond pattern. I love how the imperfections in the glass can be seen in the shadow and the way the diamond shapes have shifted.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.