Craigievar Castle

Craigievar Castle lies some distance to the west of Aberdeen. It was far enough away from the coast and at an altitude where there was snow on the ground. As the castle has a pink harl I thought it might look quite interesting with the snow. 

The castle was completed in 1626 and lived in until 1963. As far as I know it is one of the few tower houses that remains largely in its original form.

The castle is approached up a mile or so of single track path. The path had obviously not been used by more than a couple of vehicles at the time we arrived. As I turned off the road on to the the track leading to the castle, I did wonder if it was wise to attempt the road to the castle. However we made it without difficulty, but I don't think I would try the track with any more snow than there was today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.