A Light Experiment

A while ago I bought a cheap little LED ringflash unit and have used it with reasonable success on my SLR.

Today I experimented with it mounted on my LX5 hotshoe and handheld the lamp at the front of the lens (as I don't have an adapter ring small enough).

The camera appears unable to control the flash output - even though it fires. Not entirely unexpected as it is supposed to be for Canon! Everything was completely overexposed - I may have to experiment more using the aperture to control the flash levels.

However the unit also has a 'light mode' as opposed to flash. So the LEDs are lit steadily. You can adjust the output.

So this shot is taken at full power - and the camera's metering system has coped nicely. There is a silver ball to the right of the shot and you can see the reflection of the light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.