Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Avenue bare, Tollcross Park

With the morning snow showers having stopped and the afternoon gales and downpour that were forecast not yet having started, I took a bus trip into Glasgow with a view to revisiting Tollcross Park, somewhere I hadn't been for several years.

There was an Andy Scott sculpture of a highland cow in the courtyard of the Children's Farm but, sadly, the Winter Gardens looked derelict, with panes of glass missing, scaffolding erected at various points and the whole structure enclosed by one of these security fences that just cries out "Keep Out!" (My plans to stop and have a cup of coffee in the cafeteria were somewhat thwarted with this state of affairs.)

Although I took various pictures of the highland cow and of the Winter Gardens in their present state, I have decided to stick with a more general view of the park on this occasion. Thankfully, there was still enough of a path network to keep me active and occupied for an hour or so before returning to the city centre and then home before the deluge. 

I suspect further photographs of Tollcross Park may feature in future blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.