The second half of life..

By twigs

Too much all at once!

I had thought today would be a simple day of cleaning the van and settling back into being home.  Wrong! 

The guys from Chorus were scheduled to get me hooked up to UFB today which was supposed to have been a strightforward operation: connect my house's 'connection point to the main cable (which was laid in our street in the middle of last year), run wires from the connection point along a pre-planned route, to the side of the house, add another box to outside of house, connect outside box to another box inside then link everything together. Simple enough plan.


The crew were scheduled to begin work at 8.00am.  They arrived at 9.10.  Nothing was happening after about 30 ro 40 minutes and when I went out to talk to them it seems that the connection point theyd been advised was outside my house was in fact about 20 metres up the road.  It took them a while to find it, not surprisingly.  Then they had to dig down to the cable that was laid last year.  It was hot.  The ground was dry and like rock.  There was 1 man digging.  Poor guy!  And so it went on................all the way to 6.30pm when they decided they'd come back tomorrow to finish off.  At one stage there had been about 5 Chorus vans outside my place and about 7 guys. I'm thankful that the 2 main guys were such friendly and accommodating guys - it was evident that the job was not the 'simple' job the pre-planners had suggested it would be but they were great.  They kept me informed about what was happening, they smiled and joked, they never got agitated.  I'm also thankful I have taken this option up as a freebie from the telco - I daren't begin to imagine what it might have cost otherwise!

In the meantime, back inside, I was steadily unpacking the van, doing 5 loads of washing and slowly returning to life at home rather than on the road.  

Yup - too much to take in all at once.  A very tired budgie indeed tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.