Chance

End of semester final exams now fully underway. For some students it is their chance to compensate for a poor term's work.  For others it is the stuff of nightmares. For all, Lady Luck plays a big chance in how well they will do. For many of my colleagues it is a huge burden of grading - but for Art students and teachers there are no exams.  All grades achieved via coursework assessment.  Hurrah.

With no class to teach,  I spent almost the whole day trying to organise (mostly delete) photographs - I take a lot of pics of school events and student work and have thousands of them - only to discover that iPhoto seems to save them, even when you think you have deleted so that after several hours of "select-delete-double click-on-yes" at the end of the day I still had about 6,000 images.  Arrgghh!!!   Realising what a waste of time it all had been, and too angry to be polite to anyone, I started to stomp walk home - when I was followed  by one of the juvenile feral cats I mentioned yesterday.  Short haired tabby female who purrs as soon as you look at her. Born behind the cafeteria last Spring. When she was still with me at the main door of Barton I ran (well, walked purposefully) up all the flights stairs to my apartment to get one of my cat carriers, and then, after a few breathing exercises,  went all the way down again to see if she was still there. A quick whistle and she came running and it was effortless to put her in the box.   Carrying her back up four flights of stairs was not effortless - but worth it.  In the bathroom (the only room I can completely close the door and keep her confined and keep Elizabeth and Caroline away) I gave her some chicken and some time to calm down while I phoned around for a friend-with-a-car.  Twenty minutes later we are at the vet's surgery sanctuary.  Little kitty will be spayed tonight, given her rabies shot, parasite medication (inside and outside nasties) and nice Mr Vet Man will write her a 'passport' so I have written proof that she is healthy and clean.   As  she can't recuperate outside (or in my flat with Elizabeth and Caroline), she will stay with the Vet until Monday.  Then we'll see.  I am tempted to try to keep her at home - but it will be Elizabeth and Caroline's decision.  Kitty has two siblings still living outside. (A fourth was adopted by a colleague and his wife).   Both black and white. Their turn next.   

Cue song 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.