The last one.

Before she was married and moved to Glasgow - my mum worked in Cadbury's both in Birmingham and her hometown of Dublin (Coolock).  They sang opera while packing the chocolates into the boxes (Madam Butterfly was a favourite).  In the days before the PC police and HSE they were allowed to eat as much chocolate as they wanted - until they were sick of the stuff (or had Migraines!).

She had arms covered in burn marks (and one leg) from the Hot Toffee.  They were her badge of honour...and no compensation was asked for or awarded.

We visited our Irish family at least once a year from birth.  The holiday was never complete without cases full bags of misshapen chocolate Crunchies which my mum  tried to hide from us in strange places when we returned home.

Dad's wardrobe, the washing machine, the oven....but my sisters and I could sniff them out, gobble them up and replace the empty wrappers....we were very sneaky.  My younger brother wasn't - he was rubbish...was always caught out and blamed when my mum fancied a nice choccy bar only to find an empty bag.

Strange, we always have biscuits and sweets in our house, but the girls rarely ask for them.  No 2 found a selection box yesterday and handed it to her young sister.  Of course I put it somewhere 'safe'!!

I spent my dinner money on sweets.  Yorkie bars were just invented (cost 15p - the same as my dinner money), when Lion Bars were launched I HAD to have one.  Banana Toffos - my dentist's delight.  Fry's Cream bar....a delicacy.  Our lives revolved around getting our 20p pocket money on a Friday, buying a sweet or a comic (Whizzer and Chips, or Knockout in my young day - Blue Jeans or Jackie (for the Cathy & Claire problem page) when I was older.

I'm allergic to chocolate now - perhaps I should have 'paced' myself !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.