THERE'S HOPE FOR ME YET!

We went to our usual Saturday morning Coffee Club at The Old Bank, met up with all our friends, put the world to rights, then did some shopping.  It was very cold so we decided to come on home rather than hang around outside.  However, when we got home the sun was shining and our conservatory was very warm, so we spent some time out there enjoying the warmth - and it didn’t cost us a penny - now that’s a bonus when you’re retired!

I had taken several photographs whilst we were out, but decided that it would be good to have a “play” with my Canon - you may remember it is a bit heavy for me to carry around at the moment - so being indoors was an ideal opportunity to do this.

I had wandered around the garden to see if there were any flowers still blooming, despite the bitter weather, and found this little marigold - Mr. HCB had used the plants in the greenhouse last year to keep the aphids away from his tomatoes, and after he had cleaned out the greenhouse, the tray had been left outside, but this little marigold had weathered the freezing conditions as well as the light dusting of snow we had overnight.

Back indoors - some faffing around with different settings and et voilà - I am happy with this and it certainly took my mind off the issues with my knee!  

Made me think how I need to be put “under pressure” sometimes so that the best in me comes out. It’s said that we all need a little stress in our lives but we also need to manage it so that we learn, grow and move forward - so if a little marigold can cope with being in temperatures below freezing and still look as good as this, then there is hope for me yet!

P.S.  I am not thinking of bedding down in the garden overnight - just in case anyone was worried on my account!

“Most of the time 
our stress is useless. 
It's because we don't see 
the outcome of things.
God does.” 

Amanda Penland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.