CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF A LOVELY KIND!

I was up bright and early today as I had arranged to meet my friend, Caroline, for coffee at The Old Bank. Although she has gone back to work, she is still suffering the after-effects of the accident in November when she broke both her arms, so it was good to catch up with her and she said I always make her laugh, so that's good to know.

Whilst chatting another friend, Dave, came in and sat at the next table so I introduced them - but he didn't chat for long - he was more interested in reading the sports pages in the daily newspaper - am I allowed to say "typical man"?

I then needed to go and sort out an issue with my mobile phone case so went down into the town and was dealt with very efficiently by James, who was extremely helpful.  We had a great chat and I asked him about the tattoo on his arm, and whether there was any significance in the fact that it was “music" - he told me it was in memory of a lady friend who had passed away -  and was part of a song they used to sing together called "Yellow". 

Still on the go, it was then a bus ride over to the other side of the town to meet Lin, for yet another coffee and we spent 2 hours catching up.  Have I ever mentioned how hard it is being retired?  

What a good job I had that date with Mr. HCB yesterday - although I doubt I would have seen much of him even if I had stayed at home because he was busy washing pots and sorting out his seeds ready for planting!  Now that's an idea for a blip!! 

I like to think that all my encounters today have been joyful ones - of course all I've said above doesn't include the random chats with shop assistants, bus drivers, people in the queue at the bank and various bus passengers!  I even let a lady, who was grumbling, take my place in front of me at the building society - after all, my time's my own now! 

Did I mention what hard work it is being retired?  I do love my life and hope in all my conversations today, I have been a blessing to someone.

Picked up a real bargain in M & S when I left Lin - wonder if you will guess what I bought when you watch this?

“If you don't make the time to work 
on creating the life you want, 
you're eventually going to be forced 
to spend a LOT of time dealing 
with a life you don't want.”
Kevin Ngo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.