FUNNY

Definition : causing laughter or amusement; humorous.

This picture, by Welsh artist, Kerry Darlington, is entitled "Happy Un-Birthday to You". It is a hand-embellished limited edition and my blip shows two characters in part of the picture, Tweedledum and Tweedledee. There is so much to see in this picture and each time I look at it, it makes me smile as it is quite FUNNY. If you want to see the whole picture, look here.

I didn't know very much about Tweedledum and Tweedledee, so Googled them. I discovered that they are a pair of fictional characters from the book "Through the Looking Glass and What Alice Found there" by Lewis Carroll. The names have since become synonymous in western popular culture slang for any two people who look and act in identical ways, generally in a derogatory context.

There is also a Nursery Rhyme about them:

Tweedledum and Tweedledee
Agreed to have a battle;
For Tweedledum said Tweedledee
Had spoiled his nice new rattle.
Just then flew down a monstrous crow,
As black as a tar-barrel;
Which frightened both the heroes so,
They quite forgot their quarrel.


I have found it difficult to get back into my 5:2 diet since Christmas, so am thinking of putting a photograph of them on my fridge door to remind me that if I keep on eating chocolate, biscuits and cake, I will soon look like them - BUT THAT WILL NOT BE FUNNY!!!

And to close, here's a funny quote:

If only losing weight was as easy as losing my mobile phone,
my keys, my temper, or even my mind,
I'd be SO skinny!
Anonymous (but it could have been written by me!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.