BUBBLING

If I were like a certain favourite blipper of mine (and I'm sure he knows who he is!) I would do wonderful things with soap and water to make bubbles and then take photographs, but actually, I didn't need to go to all that trouble because this morning, the sun was shining on the sea and there were millions of bubbles on the tops of the waves.

As we will be going home to Wiltshire on Sunday, I thought this might be my last opportunity to take photographs of the sea on a sunny day, so off I went with my camera and started shooting.

Nearly 200 pics later, I had lots of bubbles and waves and then realised the word was for DDW's January Challenge was BUBBLING - well, the sea was bubbling - and here is a definition of bubbles or sea foam:

Sea foam or spume is a type of foam created by the agitation of seawater, particularly when it contains higher concentrations of dissolved organic matter (including proteins, lignins, and lipids) derived from sources such as the offshore breakdown of algal blooms. These compounds can act as surfactants or foaming agents. As the seawater is churned by breaking waves in the surf zone adjacent to the shore, the presence of these surfactants under these turbulent conditions traps air, forming persistent BUBBLES that stick to each other through surface tension. Due to its low density and persistence, foam can be blown by strong on-shore winds from the beach-face inland.

There was certainly a lot of foam on the beach as I walked along to my favourite beachside cafe because I was meeting my friend, Galina and her mother, also called Galina - my Tuesday's Blip. We had a lovely hour together and I had remembered how to say "Good Morning" in Russian, so was feeling quite pleased that I could at least say two words to both Galinas, although my friend, Galina, speaks very good English.

I love this Psalm:

Our Lord, you are King!
Majesty and power are your royal robes.
You put the world in place, and it will never be moved.
You have always ruled, and you are eternal.
The ocean is roaring, Lord!
The sea is pounding hard.
Its mighty waves are majestic,
but you are more majestic,
and you rule over all.
Your decisions are firm,
and your temple will always be beautiful and holy.
Psalm 93 : Contemporary English Version


Have a great weekend, fellow blippers.

More photographs here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.