Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Letocetum - A Roman Town

Saturday - visiting day to see Mom.  A rather frustrating morning as Mom was very tired and was hardly able to open her eyes.  In the hour and a half she was asleep for 95% of the time.  I spoke to the nurse who pointed out that she was not eating or drinking much.  Her tablets lay undisturbed in their small plastic cup.  It is upsetting to see her like this; I've always enjoyed that she has retained a keen mind despite her advancing years but today, other than for a few mumbled words, no discussion could take place.

I'd taken this shot before I got there, just after the sun appeared for the first time.  This is an English Heritage site in the small village of Wall.  It's adjacent to the A5 and M6 Toll, which thankfully are well hidden by landscaping in the distance.  I last visited the site in the late 1970s, when payment had to be made to enter.  Today I walked up the same path, no gate barring entrance.  I had the place to myself.  As you can see it is a very flat site so I struggled to make a good composition.  I did't feel like taking any photos after the visit to Mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.