The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Bass

... and here is what the growing excitement has been about this week!

I am now the proud owner of Squire 70's Jazz Bass. It is in mint condition, second hand from a bloke up the valleys, and I got a fantastic carrying case too. It didn't break the bank, and I must admit it looks fantastic!

This all started back months back when I started to get to know Matt really well. I have often said I wanted to learn how to play bass guitar, and if you look on my flickr pages and back on here,  the vast majority of photos I take are of the bassists. I love the whole rhythm of bass lines that sometimes go quite unnoticed. You won't be surprised that a lot of my favourite all time tracks have predominant bass lines.

So after filling my life full of music (and I must admit I am having a real golden era of discovering new bands at the moment), it was about time I actually leant how to play an instrument. I quite often get asked why I don't.

I know it is not going to be easy, but I have one hell of a tutor in the shape of Matt. I really want to do this. It might even teach me a little bit of co-ordination, which would be nice.

The first lesson is booked the week after next. Wish me luck!

PS .. I took another shot, as the one I took on the iPhone earlier in the day was apparently camp! The cheek of it ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.