Little Clarendon Street, Oxford

Although our flight cancellation yesterday was very bad news for our passengers, it was very good news for me!  Although I was subject to reassignment to another trip today, there was nothing available, so I still got paid for the 3 days of my trip and got some extra days at home!  Since Dolly was already at the dog-sitters, I decided to take the opportunity to go on an outing.  

I hadn't been to Oxford in a long time, even though it's not that far away by either rail or road.  I travelled by train and spent several hours playing tourist.  It was mostly a sunny (but cold) day, although it got dark and poured for a short time.  

Little Clarendon Street is on the north side of Oxford, in the neighbourhood called Jericho.  It is sometimes nicknamed 'Little Trendy Street'.  I am not sure that I have ever been 'trendy' but when I was a teenager and my mum would take me on shopping trips (usually for a birthday), I always asked to go to Oxford instead of London and Little Clarendon Street was my favourite place to shop.  It has changed over the years and now it has more cafes and restaurants than shops, but it is still an interesting place to wander.  

For more scenes of my day in Oxford, see my Flickr album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.