The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wycinanki

..is the Polish art of paper cutting, originally performed by women using giant sheep-shears to cut these intricate patterns. They were hung in houses as Christmas decorations.
This is part of a touring exhibition that is currently at Stroud's Museum in the Park. I must go back to give it more time and thought. This one is by Helena Miezak. Larger paper cuts such as this are becoming increasingly popular.

A perfect, lazy day began with tea and a bath, followed by some jigsaw-puzzling and a chance to finish my audiobook (Three Weeks with Micah, by Nicholas Sparks, to which I can only award three stars) and start another (The Testament of Mary, by Colm Toibin). Coffee and a g-f cinnamon bagel in the sunshine followed.

Eventually I headed off to the museum, through sunny streets.I arrived too late to see any of the exhibitions, and the paper-cutting workshop that I wanted to book on was fully subscribed already! I suggested a waiting list. But my original goal had been to see a live storyteller at the museum, telling winter tales based on the themes of the paper cuts (roosters, fishes, and so on). I'd met her at a party, and wanted to see her style, as I am thinking of going on one of her courses. Based on today's event, I most likely will enroll.

After coffee and a chat with various acquaintances, my friends Symon and John picked me up and took me to their restored farmhouse in a nearby village. It's been a labour of love for both of them, but the effort has paid off, for they have created paradise, not half a mile from the Ebley bypass!

We went on to a group outing in a village near Gloucester: a reunion of old friends from a voluntary organisation I was involved with around twenty years ago. Good to see the old faces again, as well as meeting some newer members. Emails were swapped and confidences exchanged. Next time we all meet will probably be for the annual walk in August. The food was a surprise: I had Asian-style chicken salad with skinny fries, which was more than enough, and tasty too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.