THE HOUSEWORK CAN WAIT!

One of the great things about being retired is that you can have a rigid routine or none at all.  I prefer not to have a set routine (although my mother-in-law, bless her, always said that it was good to have one) so then, when someone gets in touch, as my friend, Rachel, did last night, and asks if I am free for a coffee “in the morning”, I can say “Of course!” because I didn’t really have anything planned, except to do some housework.

We met at The Old Bank in Old Town and had a great time chatting. Rachel and her husband come to our church, and we never seem to have the opportunity to chat after the service, so it was an ideal opportunity to get to know her better.  She used to be at school with Son Number 1, although couldn’t remember him when I showed her a photograph!

Rachel knew my friend, Trevor, who goes to The Old Bank every day so they had a quick chat - and our waitress, Marthe, also came and chatted with us.  She is from Madrid, and misses her family whilst she is working over here so she showed us some of her Christmas photographs from when she visited them.

Then Andrew came in - he is a friend on Facebook, but I had never met him, so that was a bonus for me. Rachel was just thanking me for the coffee (and chat) when Andrew said that I could pay for him and his friend if I liked!  I could see they were about to have lunch, so told him next time, if he was just having a coffee, I would be happy to do so.

I know Andrew has a heart the homeless people in our town, so when I went back to the car, and saw a homeless lad sitting on the cold, damp ground, I'm ashamed to say I just smiled and passed him by.  However, knowing I had just offered to pay for a coffee for Andrew, I decided I would go back and give the lad all the change I had in my purse, which I knew would at least buy him a sandwich.  

I know that some people don’t give money to those who sit "asking for money" but it’s a very cold day and I am blessed that I have now come home to a warm house - so I hope he either gets something to eat or a hot drink.  And if he chooses to spend it on something else, who am I to question that?  I gave him a gift - and when I gave it, I put my hand on his shoulder and told him to be blessed, he responded "God bless you too." I really hope he is blessed today, and not only by me.  Perhaps I will ask his name next time I see him.

Carrying on from yesterday, have YOU blessed anyone today?

Thank you, Lord, for blessing me
with much more than I deserve;
I pray that I may share what you have given me
and be a blessing today to someone 
who needs to see and feel Your love.
Thank you for those who blessed me today,
Rachel, Trevor, Andrew, Steve, Faycal and Marthe
and of course, the nameless, homeless lad.  

Maureen Iles (aka Honeycombebeach)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.