creative lenna

By creativelenna

Bill Buchman

This is my art teacher, Mr. Bill Buchman. Here he's discussing a few abstract pieces students in this class did as homework. He's never very critical when he does this, he talks more about what he sees is working in the piece and makes suggestions for what could be tried next time. He reminds us that doing these exercises is a * p r o c e s s * . . . that we are developing skills and we should refrain from judging our own paintings. I must say that's easy to say and hard to do! 

This is the 4th season I have taken classes with Bill and I gain so much knowledge each time I do. Bill is an studio artist who has shown & sold his work, as well as a teacher, a classically trained musician (he plays Jazz in Sarasota & Venice FL), a poet, a book author, he has produced instructional DVDS and designed his own brushes! Bill has a huge knowledge of Art History. He teaches Creative Breakout (this class), Figure Drawing and more. 

The key Bill says, is letting go. Go against your normal tendency to control. Be aware of not controlling. Use different colors, mediums and lots of movement. Our homework to work on this week before next Tuesdays class is: an exercise in freedom!  I will return with what I come up with.

To see Bill in action, view a video I made of him doing a mixed media demo. I've also uploaded a number of blips featuring his classes before - enjoy! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.