creative lenna

By creativelenna

Deep Dish Spinach Pancetta Quiche

This was another new recipe I found and tried. It was also a bit labor intensive (what's gotten into me??). It took some time as the crust was made from scratch, but I enjoyed making this nonetheless. Unfortunately, Steven did not like it all that much! 

It called for 2 large onions, sliced and sauteed in the pancetta (Italian bacon) with the spinach added after 20 minutes when the onions were really cooked. The large amount of onions was just too much for Steve . . . but me? I thought it was very yummy!! Think havarti cheese, which is so full of flavor, plus the custard made from eggs, plain yogurt and milk - yum! 

If I make it again I will have to tweak the filling, but that's okay.
Note: It was made in a 9" springform pan, baked for 1-1/2 hours and had to cool for 45 minutes!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.