a note from the universe . . .

"whatever it is you want, Lenna Young, just start."

I thought this was pretty good advice I received, so I simply started. Last week, I so enjoyed working madly for 8 days to fill a small moleskin journal for the sketchbook project. So, I decided to keep myself working (playing) and repeating that good feeling. I picked up my positive affirmation journal that I started in 2012, then picked up a year later in 2013 and did more pages. The last time I had worked in this journal was November of last year, and it was truly just what I needed to do today! View larger to read the full message.

This page is not anything really fabulous or earth shattering. I see it as simply an exercise to get me using paint, paper, words and photos in an art journal, and being creative in this way. This spread includes a self-portrait from 2010 because, well, there it was in a basket of leftover scrap papers for collages! I felt like I was having a conversation (pep talk) with myself so it seemed to fit.

I started with painting the pages with 2 kinds of paint, a thin one and a metallic acrylic one. I chose these paints with the intention that they would go well with the blue & gold marbled paper I had in mind to use. Later I use a bit of bright sparkling gold paint to tie things together. I like looking through this journal with it's many positive messages. It helps me in many ways!
note: I have added more photos of the process here.

Thanks so much for stopping by :) I really appreciate all your wonderful words!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.