Return to the North

By Viking

The end is nigh

My 'holiday' is nearly over. Today is my last full day in old Blighty. Tomorrow I drive down to Heahrow.
This has been the first time I've visited home since I moved to NZ nearly 9 years ago so it was always going. To be about catching up with family and friends.
I knew too it would be the last time I saw my mum (although just how 'last' was still unexpected) we had had news a year ago that her kidneys were failing but the time frame was vague. She went into hospital a couple of weeks before I came home with a bladder infection and never came out of hospital.
The photo of her here was taken just a few days before she died. They had her sat up in a chair with the intention of sending her home!!!!
The other photos are of my sister Andrea and various friends and family.
I have loved my time here although it is very bittersweet and I really don't want to leave, but leave I must.
I am truly blessed to have a wonderful family who have nurtured me to make me who I am and an equally wonderful bunch of friends who I will miss dreadfully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.