Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

A step too far

MacBraynes, the famous Scottish bus and coach operator ran a 7 strong fleet of these lovely little Thornycroft Nippy's with Harkness bodies between 1948 and 1960.  One was converted into a booking office, rescued and entered preservation so I thought I'd try and convert  a kit of the normal bus into the booking office version.  Have you ever started something you wish you hadn't?  Well this is in that category.

What I thought was a straightforward alteration turns out to be a major rebuild!  The kit model is fully detailed but most of it has had to be sanded off.  The body has a lovely tumblehome (the flare at the base of the bodywork), this too has to be sanded off.  I hadn't noticed that until I'd started on the other 'chops'.  The rear wheels are panelled in, they must've changed tyres by dropping the back axle as there seems to be no means of access on the full size vehicle.  And MacBraynes added a sunroof.  I wish I hadn't started this one  :-(

I've drawn and printed decals for the interior tour advertisements and have plans for the booking desk too.  The old windows have been cut out and I've scaled and printed clear plastic overlays to attach to the side of the model to replace them.  The destination box has been sanded off  and plastic straps will replicate the seams.

I think it's time to sit back and consider the next stages before jumping in again.  Oh, and I've just noticed I'm going to have to remove the rear doors altogether to refit a two piece opening section.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.