But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Flight on a Bird.

We had a meeting of the creative writing group today, my contribution being a preliminary piece on slavery, and its connections with naval warfare, inspired by a talk given by a local notary and descendant of Jamaican slaves. It lead to some interesting discussion, which was only to be expected. I'm not sure that it fitted the "creative" part of our remit but we don't tend to be too prescriptive in our objectives.

The lady that hosted the meeting seeks solace in papier-mâché therapy and her house is littered with wonderful half finished masterpieces, I must ask what happens to the finished works. This sample probably relates to some fairy story of which I am unaware and is not the technique I knew in my childhood. This started off as a wire netting frame and then the paper was pasted over it layer after layer to build up to required thickness and robustness. Also on display was a hare destined to be part of a doorstop and one of her many bird/boat hybrids. There is a lady in the town who teaches this craft to school children (and adults, for that matter) and has regular displays during the local art festival.

Edit: The thumbnail crop seems to be very unreliable. I've only managed to make it work once since the revolution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.