But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Portobello Beach

Hyperfocal distance; not quite what I expected. I focused on the furthest visible part of the groyne (as far as I can tell, the “e” on the end is optional) and the picture should be sharp from the horizon to the water’s edge. In reality, zooming into pixel level shows a slight softening of the image at the nearest point in the picture. The precise definitions of “depth of field” and “hyperfocal distance” depend on the definition of the term “sharp,” obviously, the designer of the calculator I downloaded yesterday thinks an image is unsharp if the circle of confusion is more than a tenth of a pixel; personally, my criterion would be many pixels, maybe between five and ten.
 

As a picture, it needs something of interest on the smooth patch of sand, but my planning didn’t extend that far. My services were needed to deliver Herself to a lunch date so the photoshoot was impromptu; I just managed to grab camera and tripod before we left. Lego characters are all the rage at the moment and I just seen two of them used to very good effect on this assignment; maybe I’ll use some for the bokeh exercise that comes later this week. (For those not in the know, in this context the week starts on Thursday.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.