Bradford-on-Avon

So named, as it was really doing what Bradford 'proper' was doing, but on a much smaller scale and much further south!

Often overlooked by those going just one train station along the line, to Bath, BOA is a tiny gem that glistens brightly - superb architecture, steep-sided hilly rustic terraces, mountainous flights of chunky steps and all in a uniform honey golden stone that glows in the sunlight.

Not only does the railway run through it, and the Avon that it is built upon, but also the Kennet and Avon Canal (about 7 miles west of where I was in Blip two days ago). The most amazing old Saxon Church and a huge Tythe Barn, the size of a stately home, all add up to quite the visitor experience.

Last in BOA two years ago (overshadowed by Bristol and Bath!) and I got first train (late) and there an hour before sunrise. I had already planned my Blip, my viewpoint, even my lens.

The lovely and distinctive Town Bridge, complete with its own in-built gaol, for those who had run the taverns dry and gone awry! (the nodular bit on the left) with its many arches and big span is something I'd wanted to get good and perhaps unusual images of. Firstly, I got the usual viewpoint, from the road, looking over to where I am now. But I have never seen this viewpoint before and not with a longer lens, where all the lovely golden terraces are stacked up behind, catching the early glint of sunshine.

One of the biggest mills in the town is in the centre of the picture, now retirement flats, but suitably and discreetly converted.

The sun is so low, it doesn't rise enough to light up more than the tops of the houses and it is quite weak too, so I had to bolster the colour a little. And I'm standing in a place that you really need to have done some exploring to find - through a shopping courtyard, out the other side and then into a new housing complex.

SO! 

It might not be what some might want to see from BOA (you know who you are!) and perhaps not the most striking of images but it was really nice to be free of the tripod and back with the living and in a lovely town with fabulous views and wonderful architectural surprises. All on a lovely bright winter's day too!

Bradford on Avon on Wikipedia

Lens is Nikkor G 85mm f1.8, on FX D700. Image cropped top and bottom.

I had over 250 email notifications from Blipfoto from yesterday - not just with my fire and ice Blip but also as a result from the Photo of the Week win. Some of you I have thanked and many I have not and frankly, it just won't be possible. It'd be like following a giant ball of string around Spaghetti Junction in the dark and the fog. Please accept MY HEARTFELT  THANKS to you ALL!  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.