FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Swan Sculpture

I was wowed at work this afternoon by a beautiful cake with a difference!

I met a talented cake sculptor to watch the install of a black swan cake creation into the Henry VIII Banqueting Hall for the Craft Bakers Association annual party and took photographs to send to press next week.

I'd seen design drawings and photographs of the cake sculpture in build but was breathtaken by the sheer detail and magnificence of the creation.

Lisa, the sculptor, trained in Italy under a scholarship with the Craft Bakers Association and is a member of the Worshipful Company of Bakers.

I was amazed by the intricate detail of the feathers, beak and even the decorative bullrushes. I am sure all the guests this evening will be mesmerized by the sculpture too.

I was relieved to hear the swan cakes will not be eaten and are being saved for an upcoming exhibition by the designer. Underneath the swans sit two large rectangular cakes for guests to enjoy.

Yet again the beauty of swans captivated me, although this time they weren't real!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.