Auckland 175

Happy Birthday, Auckland! It's one hundred and seventy five years since the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi, when the new Governor of New Zealand, William Hobson, named it after George Eden, Earl of Auckland, then Viceroy of India (it says here) Auckland's been partying all weekend and they'll continue tomorrow. I've been enjoying it too but we're picking up our car and moving on to Northland tomorrow.


There was a wonderful firework display and I only saw part of it. These are the fireworks on the Sky Tower. We have a great view of it from the lobby area of the fourth floor and I decided I'd stand a better chance of a tripod mounted shot through the window. I used my Lee hood to seal the lens to the glass and avoid reflections and I think it's done a great job, I don't think you'd have known it was through glass if I hadn't told you.


We've had a good day today and I think we're mostly through the jet lag. It's been great wandering around the wharves and the streets. Even so, it's 10.30 and time for bed now.


David


PS I've added more Dubai pics to Flickr if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.