Bay of Islands

We picked up a hire car and drove up to Russell in the Bay of Islands. It's in the Northlands, right up towards the top of North Island. What a beautiful place! Colonial style buildings, beautiful beach and facing west. What more could you want?

We checked into the hotel, had a beer, went for a wander around the locality and watched the youngsters dive bombing off the pier. We had an early supper and I had the most beautiful tuna steak I've ever eaten. We wandered down the beach again and were entranced by the sounds coming from a tree. A Tui bird, I believe, he has the call of at least six birds. We did catch sight of him with his little wattles.

The sun was going down so I had to drag Marian away from her search for a Kiwi and head to the pier to catch the sunset. It's been a bit more cloudy today and shortly after this the rain came in. It doesn't seem like much and I'm sure tomorrow will be another lovely day.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.