An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Addressing the Haggis...

Backblip

Fantastic Burns Supper at R & D's.    The food, the drink, the company and the speeches all excellent.  It is always a pleasure to spend time in the company of these wonderful people and tonight was no exception.   I had a ball.

This is R's hubby D addressing the haggis, as he does so brilliantly every year.  At this point in the address, he has just dramatically plunged the knife into the haggis to release its "gushing entrails".  The verse he is reciting here is:-

His knife see rustic Labour dight,

An cut you up wi ready slight,

Trenching your gushing entrails bright,

Like onie ditch;

And then, O what a glorious sight,

Warm-reekin, rich!



To the non-Scots among you, this means:-


His knife see rustic Labour wipe,
And cut you up with ready slight,
Trenching your gushing entrails bright,
Like any ditch;
And then, O what a glorious sight,
Warm steaming, rich!



It's my favourite bit of the Address.  

The full Address to the Haggis can be found HERE.     And yes, D recites that from memory every year!  I have such admiration for him!

My Immortal Memory was well received, thank goodness, although I chickened out giving my rendition of THIS Burns' masterpiece!!!!!!  ;-))

Next year's Burns Supper is already in the diary.  January 23rd 2016 and we'll be back at Anna and Eddie's where it started in 2009.  Can't wait!  
  

PS It's a shame the photo isn't better quality but I only had my crappy wee compact camera with me.  I'd have been better off taking it with my phone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.