creative lenna

By creativelenna

A great blue visitor

We are so lucky to see Great Blue Herons right on our "street". This morning I spied one through the window, right across the canal from us! I quietly snuck out, opening the porch door very slowly and watching that our kitten Lightning did not try to get out, I did it! The majestic great Blue Heron was still there and Lightning was inside

To read more about these large wading birds, go here. It has head-to-tail length of 91–137 cm (36–54 in), a wingspan of 167–201 cm (66–79 in), a height of 115–138 cm (45–54 in), and a weight of 1.82–3.6 kg (4.0–7.9 lb)

Here he is standing tall, which I liked because I can show you how big they can get. But this heron was also bending over & staring into the water at times, looking for a fish breakfast, I bet. He stayed on our neighbor's dock for quite a while, and then flew off down the street! 

I have been laying low with a wee bit of a cold, so please forgive me if you have not heard from me. I will be back! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.