Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Phar Lap: A Local Legend

It’s been a busy day today, as me and Mrs H have been into Timaru twice today to get stuff from our storage unit.

On the way back from our second run, I stopped at the Phar Lap Raceway on the outskirts of town to take this shot of the magnificent life-size statue that guards the entrance to the course.

Phar Lap was bred in Timaru and trained in Australia where he had great success, winning the Melbourne Cup, the Cox Plate and many other top tier races. At the time of his death in 1932 he was the third highest stakes winner in the world.

A true Australasian icon, Phar Lap’s mounted hide is on display at the Melbourne Museum, his skeleton at Te Papa in Wellington, and his heart in the National Museum of Australia in Canberra.

Another run to Christchurch awaits me tomorrow, my first in a series of day trips for work and other functions. I think I might have to sort out my iPod for the trip up Thompsons Track...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.