a town called E.

By Eej

Playing Fetch



It started as a bit of fun but as it turns out Blue Jays are so very smart that by the end of the day we were able to play fetch together. So, I would hold up a peanut, whistle to try to get the jay's attention and associate his snacks with my presence and then throw it in the grass. And sure enough, he'd go get it. Without ever missing where it had fallen.
After dinner when I went outside again I was able to just whistle, the Jay would jump in the grass and then I'd throw the peanut. Some times he'd eat it, other times he'd go hide it under a dead leaf. Fascinating stuff! Tomorrow I'll see if Heckle, the Common Grackle, wants to play as well.

I wasn't quite sure what to make of this expression so I'm going with 'anticipation' :)

Also, I'm going to have to research if birds sweat, as almost all of them were flying around with their beaks open, but making no sound. They looked like panting dogs.

I planted the zucchini and the native Michigan plants I got yesterday at the Conservation District (swamp milkweed, new england aster, wild senna, purple coneflower, some other milkweed I don't recall the name of and spotted beebalm).


Another weekend over :( It's good knowing next weekend is a 3-day one though :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.