Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Glorious...

I decided to do this in mono so that the attention would be on the beautiful feathers - hope it works as I am never totally comfortable with mono.  If you'd like to see the shot in color, click HERE.  This is a Great Egret, in breeding plumage.  These beautiful birds were hunted almost to extinction in the early 1900s for their feathers.  Apparently, all the ladies wanted the gorgeous plumes to adorn their hats.  How much nicer to see the feathers on the bird rather than a lady's head, I think!

I posted 5 other shots from today starting HERE on Flickr - wood storks, cardinal, squirrel, great blue herons.  I had some fun today watching the herons working on their nests at Lake Seminole.  There are at least 3 pairs (probably 4) making nests in a huge pine tree that is right next to the osprey nesting platform.  Today, one of the osprey took off after a heron, chasing the poor heron all around the pond.  I'm not sure if the heron got too close to the osprey nest, or if perhaps he tried to snatch one of their sticks for his own nest.  In any event, it was too fast and chaotic for me to get a shot, but it sure was fun to watch.  Everyone returned to their respective nests and primped afterwards...

I'm off to the dentist this afternoon for what I hope is a simple procedure related to the implant I am having done.  Won't bore you will all the details.

Two days until my birthday and three days until the much-anticipated BlipMeet on Saturday!  

Thank you all so very much for the hearts, stars and comments on my fishing osprey yesterday!  I didn't expect quite such a warm response - you've inspired me to continue trying to get "the" shot ...

Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.