Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Bird # 19 - the Common Grackle

I was passing through the Kitchen this morning and when I looked out over the patio/deck, there must have been 30-40 grackles.  Skittish things that they are, when I tried to grab my camera off the table, they took off in all directions.  They sat up in the trees for a while, making their odd noises, then took off.  

A short while later, as I was once again passing through the kitchen, I spied a Sharp-shinned hawk on the patio - she flew to our cherry tree, and allowed me to get two shots through the window before taking off.  Although I've already blipped a Sharpie as part of my yard bird record, I thought she'd be a good blip today.  You can see if you agree - click HERE

Although it is quite cold, I decided to bundle up and see if I could get some pics of the blue jays doing funny blue jay things - so I huddled down on the patio, very still (and very cold) and waited ... I was investigated by a titmouse, and then I had a blue jay with a shocking hairdo (guaranteed to make you laugh) and then...then...I head the distinctive chatter of...common grackles!  Long story short, my patience was rewarded as I managed to get some fairly good shots of a small group of grackles who were nervously eating corn and seeds around the Bistro.  I chose this shot because it is such a classic grackle pose - watchful and alert.  I posted another shot of a grackle in quiet repose, giving me his back.

Very happy to report that the part for our downstairs furnace came in today and the heating company has us up and running again.  We'll continue to use our fireplace as our primary heat downstairs during the day, but at least we have the heater to keep the downstairs warm at night.  So, yay!  

Today is my second-to-last day of my 50's.  I find that very hard to believe as most days I feel 30.  Or 40...  Time flies.

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.