Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Bird # 18

After seeing several of these little American Tree Sparrows flit through the yard recently, too fast to photograph, I was delighted when I spied this one right outside the relatively clean kitchen window this morning.  Stealthy as a fox, I crept up to the window, lens pressed to the glass and got off several shots.  This is been slightly cropped and tweaked a bit in LR to lighten it up.  This is the fourth sparrow species in the yard so far this winter - I'm holding out for a Song Sparrow to round out the count.  

The Fox sparrows are still around and I counted four of them this morning.  No vultures and still no repeat visit from the Wild Turkeys... But I'm patient.  I posted another shot of the Tree Sparrow HERE, looking like Angry Bird and a shot of a snow bird in the snow HERE.  I did quite a bit of processing on the snowbird to get the blue cast out of the snow and clean up bits of seed in the shot.  Happy with the result.

I had some fun playing with aperture this morning as part of last weeks assignment from Emma Davies' A Year With My Camera challenge.  I posted my best effort on Flickr, and will also pop it in Extra today - always welcome comments/suggestions!  

Hubs has booked a room for us in the City for Saturday night, where we will celebrate my entry into the next decade - romantic dinner for he and I, and then brunch the next day with two of my besties.  Seems like a perfect birthday celebration to me.

Cheers, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.